top of page

Timber Mtn & Ontario Peak Overnight SOTA Activation

For footage of the parking lot, trail head, and up to Icehouse Saddle you can watch the Cucamonga Peak video as it's the same trail. Once at Icehouse Saddle, Timber Mtn is to the east about 1 mile. Timber Mtn did have cell coverage and was easily worked on a VHF HT.

After Timber Mtn., I went back to Icehouse Saddle then up and over to Ontario Peak. I passed through Kelly's Campground and was in the open portion of the hike during the hot part of the day 2PM local time. There wasn't any water at Kelly's Campground and I didn't see any hikers until I headed off Ontario Peak the next day.

Timber Mtn had plenty of trees to hang wire antennas as did Ontario Peak. Both were easily worked on VHF but cell service was better on Timber Mtn allowing me to spot myself on the SOTA Goat app.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page