top of page

Shadow Mountain SOTA Activation

This was the first of four summits for the day while on route to our annual Camp Cuddeback Burning Ham 2015 camp out. I was fortunate that a lot of my pals (upwards of 90 people) landed in Camp Cuddeback for the weekend which made my desert activations work really quick.

Shadow Mountain is an exceptionally easy summit to conquer. You can drive to this peak with a good high clearance 2WD if needed or walk up a nice dirt/rock road to the old radio bunkers. I was a little worried that the views would be limited because from Highway 395 this mountain peak does not look that revealing. To my surpries I was able to see for miles in every direction. A camp out here on the summit with a good telescope or night photography would be a nice addition to working HF all night. Cell service (Verizon) works great here, the dirt road from Highway 395 is very smooth, and the final ascent on the dirt servie road is in good condition. Make the hike and have fun!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page